When you change your display name it sends a message like: "russell has changed their display name to Russell" When a room has a message from you it shows up as having new messages. So changing display name globally puts a new message in every room and obscures which rooms you have read all the messages in which is annoying. Also I think that there should be an option to have a message sent from my account on another device to count as having read all messages in the room.