#268694 dput: Add a option to delete local copies after upload

Package:
dput
Source:
dput
Submitter:
Robert Millan
Date:
2025-08-17 17:47:07 UTC
Severity:
wishlist
Tags:
#268694#5
Date:
2004-08-28 16:54:01 UTC
From:
To:
Could you add an option to dput for removing files after a successful upload?

The idea is that when you're preparing a binary-only upload, sometimes you
just want to upload it and forget about the files.  This is very common when
porting.

In particular, when dput is being run by a buildd, if it could be set to
remove the files after a succesful upload, cleaning the ~buildd/upload dir
periodicaly wouldn't be necessary.

#268694#10
Date:
2004-09-08 09:58:10 UTC
From:
To:
Hi Robert,

Thank you for your bugreport and interest in dput. I can understand that
you want to forget about the files, but what about keeping at least the
.upload file documenting when the upload happened?

I don't think adding an option to remove files would be useful. Instead
I think it would be more helpful to pass the name of the files that were
uploaded as an argument to the pre- and postupload command. That way
you can create a script run after the upload to clean up the files,
exactly as you like it. And other users can then move files around or do
anything they like with the files. Would that be an acceptable solution
for you? If yes, I think we might add this feature to the current
version of dput.

Christian

#268694#15
Date:
2004-09-08 13:27:39 UTC
From:
To:
Yes, that'd be fine.  Then I can write a script that cleans up the whole thing
for me.  Thank you.