#315276 Uninformative delete dialog

Package:
gworkspace.app
Source:
gworkspace
Description:
GNUstep Workspace Manager
Submitter:
Anton Zinoviev
Date:
2017-12-23 18:51:03 UTC
Severity:
normal
#315276#5
Date:
2005-06-21 15:32:15 UTC
From:
To:
[If you reply, please keep the CC to nnn@bugs.debian.org]

If I use the menu File/Move to Recycler (or simply hit Command-d) in
order to remove some file or folder, GWorkspace (Operation.app) shows
the following dialog:

RECYCLER
Move from: /home/anton
to the Recycler?
<Cancel> <OK>

This dialog doesn't make clear what I am moving.  Imagine that I had two
Viewers opened and that the wrong Viewer had the focus when I issued the
command "Move to Recycler" - I would lose important data without my
notice.

Anton Zinoviev

#315276#10
Date:
2005-06-29 11:17:07 UTC
From:
To:
Now it is:

RECYCLER
Move (count) items from: /home/anton
to the Recycler?
<Cancel> <OK>

And remember that you can always see the current selection in the Inspector...

#315276#15
Date:
2005-06-29 15:03:24 UTC
From:
To:
see in GUI-based file managers as of yet.

Reason for the very existence of the Recycler/Trashcan is, you don't
loose anything in both cases and with or without the dialog. Just
move the files back if you accidently grabbed the wrong ones.


Markus

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Dipl. Ing. Markus Hitter
http://www.jump-ing.de/

#315276#20
Date:
2005-06-29 15:40:12 UTC
From:
To:
You can enable/disable all the confirmation dialogs from the preferences of Operation.app. (Info->Preferences->Confirmation)
#315276#25
Date:
2005-06-30 11:06:51 UTC
From:
To:
I can not be more specific, but as far as I can remember in NeXt the
user was given the following choices:

1. Cancel the operation
2. Replace the target folder by the source folder (the current behaviour)
3. Merge the folders (the behaviour of the "cp" console command and
   probably the behaviour of most other file managers)

Ok, I can also see which one of the Viewers is active, but...

Anton Zinoviev

#315276#30
Date:
2005-09-14 18:44:46 UTC
From:
To:
tags 315276 + fixed-upstream
stop

fixed in upstream CVS.

Enrico Sersale <enrico@dtedu.net>> wrote:

Well, I've added to the dialog the count of the items you are about to recycle/move/copy/etc.
Now it is:

RECYCLER
Move (count) items from: /home/anton
to the Recycler?
<Cancel> <OK>

And remember that you can always see the current selection in the Inspector...

#315276#39
Date:
2006-09-25 08:27:45 UTC
From:
To:
Unfortunately this bug is not fixed.  If I use Command-d in order to
remove the file foo.txt it says

   Move one item from: /home/anton to the Recycler?

With the more dangerous combination Command-r it is even worse:

   Delete the selected objects?

Instead of these noninformative dialog I expect s.t. like these:

   Move foo.txt from /home/anton to the Recycler?

   Destroy permanently foo.txt from /home/anton?  This operation can
   not be undone.

In my opinion this bug is very dangerous.

Anton Zinoviev

#315276#44
Date:
2007-11-02 13:08:26 UTC
From:
To:
Hello Anton

Coul you please check if any of these bugs is fixed with the new version?

Thank you,
Gürkan