Currently, "6.6 Details of unpack phase of installation or upgrade" says
at number 4:
,----
| The new package's files are unpacked, overwriting any that may be on
| the system already, for example any from the old version of the same
| package or from another package. Backups of the old files are kept
| temporarily, and if anything goes wrong the package management system
| will attempt to put them back as part of the error unwind.
`----
But the other parts of this error-unwind are not explained. The first
thing seems to be that new-postrm is called with "abort-upgrade", and I
guess that old-postinst is called with "configure" afterwards, but I
don't know (since my postrm failed...)
Regards, Frank