#534221 "Show my windows and tabs from last time" conflicts with "Always clear browser history"

Package:
iceweasel
Source:
firefox-esr
Submitter:
Carsten Kosthorst
Date:
2015-01-04 00:09:04 UTC
Severity:
wishlist
Tags:
#534221#5
Date:
2009-06-22 16:14:54 UTC
From:
To:
Hi,

iceweasel is set to show my windows and tabs from the last time (Edit ->
Preferences -> Main -> Startup "Show my windows and tabs from last time").
Unfortunately, it starts up with a blank tab or a tab showing my home page.
Which one it shows seems to be random.

This behaviour also occurs when running iceweasel in safe mode with the
-safe-mode option.

Regards,

   Carsten

#534221#10
Date:
2009-07-04 11:45:11 UTC
From:
To:
I try it and it works perfectly for me...
#534221#15
Date:
2009-07-10 12:19:27 UTC
From:
To:
hi,

i had the same problem a couple of days ago.
in my case it was a problem with my iceweasel-preferences, specifically
the "Privacy" --> "clear private data on closing iceweasel" checkbox.
(i don't know the correct translation. in german its called: Datenschutz
--> Private Daten löschen, wenn Iceweasel beendet wird)

what have you set there? did you choose to clear all private data?
maybe it helps.

regards,
flurin

#534221#20
Date:
2009-07-13 19:20:15 UTC
From:
To:
I can confirm that this 'bug' is related to one of the "Always clear my
private data when I close Iceweasel"
options - when you select to clear the "Browsing history" (first option
in the  "Always clear..." dialog) then
Iceweasel doesn't remember the tabs that were open in the previous
session. Iceweasel 3.5 behaves
the same way.

This is also the case for regular Firefox (I've checked with Fx 3.0.11
packaged for Ubuntu and with
official 3.5 binary from Mozilla), so It may be good idea to report it
upstream.

However, clearing the browsing history on exit means that the browser
should forget the sites that were
open during the last session, so even the tabs are being forgot as a
result - it's quite logical. Given this,
should this be considered a bug or rather a feature request? I bet that
upstream would consider this
a feature request. The only reasonable 'solution' would be to indicate
somehow to the user that enabling
this option (to clear the browsing history on exit) conflicts with the
option for displaying tabs from
previous session on startup. Yet still upstream seems to be a better
place for such changes.

Regards,
Tomek

#534221#31
Date:
2015-01-04 00:07:05 UTC
From:
To:
Reported upstream as Bug 952945

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=952945

My ¢¢: If I select the tabs to stay opened, the list of opened tabs
obviously should not be cleared.