Cancelling adduser part way through the creation of a new user results in entries being written to /etc/passwd and /etc/group. This behaviour is a) not what is normally expected when using Ctrl+C to cancel a command, and b) results in a potentially unconfigured but still existant user and group on a system. The script should be modified to only write to passwd/group files *after* a user confirms with 'Y'.
Hi. I have just been bitten by this bug although I remember knowing about it already. I am considering to up its severity since I personally think this violates the principle of least supprise.