Hello there, I found a remarkable bug with nautilus (and letting it manage the desktop) in version 3.4.2 (stable). 1. Log in as a user (e.g. abc) that doesn't 'have file manager handle the desktop' (gnome-tweak-tool). 2. Now 'gksu nautilus' in a terminal window as a different user (e.g. xyz) that has the mentioned option enabled. You now see abc's desktop vanishing and xyz's desktop appear with all its files and directories(beside opening the intended nautilus window). Everything you do on the desktop is under xyz's name. 3. Close the intended nautilus window. You now may abort the waiting (not finished) gksu command and / or close the terminal window. Xyz's desktop keeps visible and functional. Everything you do within it is in xyz's name. Somehow it's a cool feature being 'logged in as two users' in the same UI. :) But since this obviousy is not intended it mostly is a security bug. :( Christian Meyer