#772612 kmail: Sent message opened for editing by default and can be removed from sent by saving

Package:
kmail
Source:
kmail
Description:
full featured graphical email client
Submitter:
Shai Berger
Date:
2015-08-06 12:48:08 UTC
Severity:
normal
#772612#5
Date:
2014-12-09 07:04:44 UTC
From:
To:
Dear Maintainer,

Double-click a message in any folder; unlike in kmail1, the message
opens as editable (in kmail1 this was only true for Outbox).

However, if the message is opened from the sent-mail folder, then --
just like with outbox -- it is also removed from the list. When you
close the message, as with any editable, you are offered to discard
the changes or save as draft. If you discard, all is well; but if
you save as draft, it is removed permanently from the sent folder,
losing the data that the message was sent.

#772612#10
Date:
2014-12-09 19:12:42 UTC
From:
To:
Hello,

I tried to duplicate this with 4.14.1.

I had to hit "T" in order to actually edit the message, and then if I make a
change and save it, the save button says "Save to Draft", for me the
modified message moved to the Drafts folder.

By any chance is the modified message now in the draft folder for you?

Diane Trout

#772612#15
Date:
2014-12-09 19:12:42 UTC
From:
To:
Hello,

I tried to duplicate this with 4.14.1.

I had to hit "T" in order to actually edit the message, and then if I make a
change and save it, the save button says "Save to Draft", for me the
modified message moved to the Drafts folder.

By any chance is the modified message now in the draft folder for you?

Diane Trout

#772612#20
Date:
2014-12-09 19:49:34 UTC
From:
To:
Hi,

Yes, it is. I might have considered it not-really-data-loss, if the behavior
had only been specifically triggered by editing the message. But:

A) I definitely (just checked again) didn't need to press T (which is labeled
in the menu as "Edit message"). On the other hand, double-click behaves as "T"
for me in other folders as well. Is there a setting I messed up? I couldn't
find anything looking relevant.

B) I expect behavior in sent-messages to be the same as, say, inbox, where the
message, even if selected for editing, is not changed or removed, but a new
copy of it is created and edited.

The message moving to the draft folder is already losing its sent status and
sent date/time, and is highly likely to lose the message itself as well (if
the user did not expect or notice that the draft takes the place of the old
sent message).

Thanks,
	Shai.

#772612#25
Date:
2014-12-13 11:37:23 UTC
From:
To:
Hey,

I cant reproduce the behavour in 4:4.14.2-2:

(sent folder, inbox,...)

* double-click at any message opens the mail in view mode not edit mode
* open it with edit mode (press T) opens the mail in edit mode but do NOT
delete the mail

(outbox)

* double-click at the mail open it as expected in edit mode and delete the
mail from outbox
* asks for saving (save in draft -> saves it to draft, discard restore the
mail in the outbox)

I would suggest you test with a clean user and/or check all identities. It
sounds like one identity uses the sent folder as outbox.


Regads,

sandro

#772612#30
Date:
2014-12-09 21:34:18 UTC
From:
To:
Well. Logoff, logon, and inbox is back to normal behavior (double-clicking the
message in the list opens it for reading, not editing). Sent-mail is still
exactly as described.

#772612#35
Date:
2014-12-13 17:44:15 UTC
From:
To:
Hi,
sent-mail folder, the drafts folder and the templates folder. I couldn't find
the identities in kmail2rc, so I don't even know how to do it with non-UI.

Nevertheless, I checked those folders on all identities, and there was one
anomaly (probably a remainder from the problem reported in [1]) -- one
identity (which I haven't used for sending in years) had its "sent-folder" set
to a sub-folder of inbox. I set it straight, and things seem to be normal now.

[1] https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=727800#10

Thanks,
	Shai.

PS: This still makes me very uncomfortable: If KMail2's config can be easily
broken in ways that lead to data loss -- and by "easily" I mean "without user
intervention" -- is there a way to run a "health check"?

I don't feel it is right to close this bug without understanding what happened
and how it can be prevented, so I'm not closing it myself; but I won't object
if you guys decide to close it.

Shai.