- Package:
- debian-installer
- Source:
- debian-installer
- Description:
- Debian Installer documentation
- Submitter:
- Bob Clough
- Date:
- 2019-11-06 08:39:05 UTC
- Severity:
- normal
Dear Maintainer, I came across a bug in d-i in jessie. Once an encrypted volume has been created and enabled, it cannot be removed without competely rebooting the machine. * Create an encrypted volume * Notice you forgot to add a non-encrypted boot partition * Exclaim "bugger" * Attempt to delete the encrypted volume by selecting it and pressing return -> Nothing Happens * Attempt to delete it by pressing the "Manage Encrypted Volumes" option -> Only options are "Create New Encrypted Volume" and "Finish" * Attempt to directly delete the partition from the dish -> Get a red screen that tells you you're not allowed to edit the partiton layout, as it has an encrypted volume on it.
This behavior remains in Stretch.
This behaviour remains in Debian 10.0 in Expert Mode.
Behavior is identical in 10.1. What you could do, without rebooting: open another shell (ctrl-alt f2), luksClose the crypted volume, pgremove the physical volume group, then comes the scary part: add some amnesia to partman. I did a # mv /var/lib/partman/devices/=dev\=nvme0n1 /tmp/, went back to the installer and could re-do whatever I wanted to do.