Dear Maintainer,
I have a dual monitor setup, normally configured with "extend to the
right". I leave the computer running all the time, but I power down
the monitors when I'm not using them. Every time I turn them on, or
after several minutes with no activity, the system has reverted to
"mirrored displays", and a four-panel dialog is displayed with these
choices:
1. ASUS 27"
Mirror Displays
Extend to the right
2. ASUS 27"
What I expected is to set up the displays once, navigating
Applications -> Settings -> Displays
and unsetting "Mirror displays". After that, the settings should be
preserved across monitor power-cycles, periods of inactivity, and
system restarts.
(I'm attaching screenshots of the two dialogs.)
I see the setting is stored as the relative position of the second
monitor in
~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml:
diff -r -U 8 xfce4-extended/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
xfce4-mirrored/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
--- xfce4-extended/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
2018-11-24 22:49:22.814745510 -0500
+++ xfce4-mirrored/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/displays.xml
2018-11-24 23:09:02.810708537 -0500
@@ -77,15 +77,15 @@
<property name="DP-2" type="string" value="2. ASUS 27"">
<property name="Active" type="bool" value="true"/>
<property name="Resolution" type="string" value="2560x1440"/>
<property name="RefreshRate" type="double" value="74.924852"/>
<property name="Rotation" type="int" value="0"/>
<property name="Reflection" type="string" value="0"/>
<property name="Primary" type="bool" value="false"/>
<property name="Position" type="empty">
- <property name="X" type="int" value="2560"/>
+ <property name="X" type="int" value="0"/>
<property name="Y" type="int" value="0"/>
</property>
</property>
</property>
<property name="Notify" type="bool" value="true"/>
</channel>
Power cycling the monitors resets the X coordinate of the Position to zero.
Incidentally, I tried both "Configure new displays when connected"
settings. The only difference was that when this was not set, the
four-panel dialog was not displayed when the monitors were turned on,
and I had to navigate to the normal display dialog instead. This
suggests it's not remembering the monitors - i.e. every time it wakes
up, it thinks I've installed new monitors. Where is that part of the
configuration supposed to be saved?
- Jim Van Zandt