- Package:
- gnome-shell
- Source:
- gnome-shell
- Description:
- graphical shell for the GNOME desktop
- Submitter:
- Paul Menzel
- Date:
- 2021-03-17 16:15:02 UTC
- Severity:
- normal
Dear Debian folks, With Debian Sid/unstable with the default GNOME session, that means Wayland is used, and with two keyboard layouts configured (Neo (default), and German) sometimes the keyboard layout changes from Neo to normal German without me pressing the corresponding shortcut. The notification in the GNOME Shell’s top bar also still shows de₁, which is for Deutsch (Neo 2), so it is not changed. Unfortunnately I have not figured out, what causes this. My suspicion is that “X.Org applications” like Mozilla Firefox and Thunderbird are involved. Maybe the GDM session running in parallel has something to do with it? No idea. Debugging help is much appreciated. Kind regards, Paul PS: I chose the severity *serious*, because suddenly having a different keyboard layout can cause data loss, when you suddenly press key which for example confirms the deletion of data, despite you thinking you press a different key to abort on the keyboard you currently use.
That feels vastly exaggerated. That aside... I too have two keyboard layouts configured and this happens to me as well, under GNOME/Xorg and afaics is simply me pressing by accident Windows/Super + Space. This is the shortcut for switching the keyboard layout. I suspect it's the same for you. You can reconfigure the shortcut in gnome-control-center. Go to "Tastatur->Texteingabe->Zur nächsten Quelle wechseln"
Severity: normal Ok, if you say so that it won’t cause data loss. I change it to *normal*. I am pretty sure, it’s not it, because if I press this shortcut, a popup is shown and the notification in the top bar changes. Kind regards, Paul
Am 01.07.19 um 10:29 schrieb Paul Menzel: I only get this pop-up as long as I press Super. Once I release Super, the popup is gone. If I do that quickly, then the popup is never shown here. That said, my status indicator (in the upper right corner, I guess that's what you meant with notification) *does* change. So your case might be different indeed. I just wanted to rule out the most obvious (e.g. by disabling this shortcut temporarily) Regards