Dear Maintainer,
Problem: Very DANGEROUS BUG in gnome-disk-utility : USER COULD POSSIBLY
DELETE THE HARD DISK BY MISTAKE WITHOUT GIVING ANY PASSWORD.
Hi,
I have discovered a very dangerous bug in gnome-disk-utility.
I am now on debian 11 bullseye testing and that bug was already present on
debian 10 buster stable and probably before too.
Usage process :
- We use gnome-disk-utility (graphical interface) and we want to copy an
ISO image on a USB stick.
- We insert our USB stick, we click on USB on the left of the gnome-disk-
utility window.
- We then choose the "Restore Disk Image..." (translation of the french
"Restaurer l'image disque...".
- When we have chosen the ISO file to put on the USB stick, the software
comes with a window that says "Begin restoration..." (translation of the french
"Demarrer la restauration...".
- We click on "Demarrer la restauration" and then another window says
"Cancel/Restore" (french : "Annuler/Restaurer").
- We click on "Restore" (french "Restaurer") and the software asks us for
necessary authentification (password) (french "Authentification necessaire").
BUG :
At that point, EVEN IF WE CLICK "CANCEL" (french "ANNULER"), THE USB STICK
IS ERASED, it is formatted anyway.
And a big concern is : What would have happened if, by mistake we had
clicked on the hard disk (HDD) instead of the USB stick as a destination for
our ISO image ?? It would certainly have been erased too, without even having
given any password !! A child or inattentive, tired person could erase the hard
disk that way.
I tested that several times with a USB stic), but having just one computer,
I couldn't test that bug with the Hard Disk. And I don't know if there is a
protection for preventing the user to select the Hard Disk instead of a USB
stick.
Cordially,
Pascal.