Hey. I've just noted, that when purging the package, at least the user is left behind and not removed. Any reason for that? Cheers, Chris.
Hi Christoph!
Thanks for your report.
Yes, there is a reason for disabling the user deletion on purge:
privoxy (3.0.6-3) unstable; urgency=low
* According to http://wiki.debian.org/AccountHandlingInMaintainerScripts
removing system users in postrm isn't a good idea. So the removal of
user privoxy in postrm was disabled and deluser/adduser of existing
user in postinst was also removed. This should avoid problems with
purging privoxy if passwd package isn't installed (Closes: #417015).
I made some comments on #621833. Especially, cleaning up the users isn't really much worse than creating them in the first place. Actually I'd even say it's better, from a security PoV, cause deleting them will likely just loudly break things - while creating/using a user which may already be used by someone likely introduces a privilege issue. Cheers, Chris.