Hey. I've just noted, that when purging the package, at least the user is left behind and not removed. Any reason for that? Cheers, Chris.
I think leaving the logcheck user behind on purge is actually best practice because it may still own files (eg in /etc/logcheck if that was stored in a version control system). piuparts does not object to this, and i think other packages take this approach too. suggest closing this post bookworm, assuming no-one objects
https://lists.debian.org/deity/2023/05/msg00014.html thread says adduser to be removed from 'essential' - logcheck will need to depend on adduser post bookworm There is also this bug against policy asking for a central policy on system users https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=621833 - looks like logcheck is indeed following the rough consensus by not removing the user on purge